Dean O'Brien's Blog

354MC Professional Practice Portfolio: Revising my cv ready for graduation

leave a comment »

On Wednesday as part of my 354mc module, we had a cv clinic.  This is where Jacqui Bleetman and Liz Hollins took a deeper look at my cv and recommended some constructive changes.  The idea being that it could be tailored to my needs ‘now’ rather than when I first created it a couple of years ago.

The amendments which I need to do are only minor, but they will make the cv stand out to prospective employers.  References were something which I need to address (as I had four listed) and it was suggested that I only list two.  I have already emailed the two main people whom prospective employers will contact should they need to.

The next step is to make the recommended amendments and then convert the cv to a ‘Word’ document (as I am a Mac user and normally use ‘Pages’).  This will then be forwarded to Jacqui so that it can be checked before being distributed.

I am determined to use my degree and find work within a creative or artistic industry.  Far too many graduates have degrees which are not being put to use and I do not want to end up being one of those statistics.

Written by Dean O'Brien

May 28, 2012 at 9:52 am

Leave a Reply

