Dean O'Brien's Blog

Talk at Ukrainian Youth Movement, Tarasivka about my ongoing project in Ukraine

with 2 comments

Yesterday I travelled to the Ukrainian Youth Movement HQ ‘Tarasivka’ in Derbyshire where I had been invited along to talk about my ongoing project in Ukraine.  This was my first time speaking in public about my project since leaving university and if I’m honest I was slightly nervous.

I gave a talk to a mixed crowd who were happy to engage with me and discuss various issues that are affecting the country.  Many valid points were raised throughout the talk as questions were fired from the audience.  Topics discussed included the Holodomor, the forthcoming elections, the jailing of former Prime Minister Yulia Tymoshenko, the Russian Language Bill and the continued Russification of the country.

I explained how my project started off as a search for love in a foreign country, and then evolved into something much bigger as I started to unpick the reasons why so many women are leaving a country they love.  And also, how the project has started to look at issues such as social change since Ukraine gained its independence over 20 years ago.

I also managed to stress the importance of social media and how it has been used to highlight problems in many other countries and how this can now be used to draw attention to issues within Ukraine.

Overall, it was a great pleasure to do the talk in front of so many people and it was agreed that I would come back again and give an update on how the project is developing at a later date.

Written by Dean O'Brien

August 17, 2012 at 8:38 am

Posted in Ukraine

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent Dean. Keep that ball rolling 🙂

    rick medlock

    August 17, 2012 at 8:43 am

  2. Thanks Rick. I’m looking forward to developing the project into something much bigger.

    Dean O'Brien

    August 17, 2012 at 8:57 am


Leave a Reply

