Dean O'Brien's Blog

Journey to work – #Phonar pre task

with 3 comments

I suppose I am fortunate enough to have been at Coventry University when I first started #Phonar last year so I experienced the classroom with face to face interaction.  This year however, having left university I am now one of the many students who take part in the class remotely.

As you can image my journey to work has changed.  Last year it would have been remembering to take my sandwiches out of the fridge, pack my bag, jump in the car and finally find a car parking space as close to uni as possible.  Today it’s somewhat different.

As a freelance photographer I, like many am now working from home.  In a strange kind of way, I started to prepare this work space long before I left university as I knew what was coming.  I knew most of my time would be spent in front of my Mac emailing, tweeting and networking with like minded individuals.

My day starts like many other peoples who now opt out from the traditional 9 to 5 routine.  I am normally awoken, not by an alarm but by the shards of light that burst through the vertical blinds offering very little sanctuary for those who wish to continue sleeping during the daylight hours.

I rise, peer through the blinds to check the weather and switch on my phone waiting for the constant pinging of emails and messages coming through.  Then I brush my teeth, head down stairs, feed the cat and yes, very much like the Blur song ‘Park Life’ I think about leaving the house…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Dean O'Brien

September 29, 2012 at 9:41 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interested in hearing your feedback for this year Dean, hope MJ and I have managed to evolve the class again and make it worthwhile for someone who alreay took it. Great news on the Guardian Graduate of the Year award – fingers crossed.

    j

    jonathanworth

    October 6, 2012 at 6:20 pm

  2. Yes I can see how the #Phonar class is evolving, moving forward and am more than happy to provide feedback as the class progresses.

    As for the Guardian Student Media Awards, I’m still surprised at being shortlisted. November 7th seems like such a long way off but I will keep you and Matt posted. Thanks for the continued support.

    Dean O'Brien

    October 6, 2012 at 8:40 pm


Leave a Reply

