Dean O'Brien's Blog

Back from Ukraine…

with 2 comments

Well I’m back from Ukraine after a very eventful trip.  Luckily I drew on the help of a few friends out there who were on hand to help with various things.

I travelled south of Kyiv (about 200 miles) to the village of Keleberda in Cherkas’ka region to my my friends Grandmother.  Here I was treated to a real Ukrainian feast of Borsch washed down with homemade vodka.  I’m going to do a separate blog post with images about this so please hold tight.

I managed also get invited inside the tents which are placed as a permanent protest against the imprisonment of Yulia Tymoshenko.  Protestors have lived here for 433 days (and counting) with each tent representing a different region from Ukraine.  I managed to record an interview with one of the main organisers as well as many images.  As with above, I will go into this in more depth in a separate blog post.

However, the Sunday before I left to fly home I managed to capture some images and audio from the massive Svoboda party march and rally in Kyiv.  This was a huge event attended by well over 10,000 people.  Check out the short photofilm below which shows just a short selection of the images which were taken on the day.

Written by Dean O'Brien

October 17, 2012 at 10:29 pm

Posted in Ukraine

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent Dean you just get better and better.

    rick medlock

    October 18, 2012 at 6:32 am


Leave a Reply

