Dean O'Brien's Blog

The other side of the camera for a change..

leave a comment »

It feels strange being shortlisted for ‘Student Photographer of the Year’ Award. by the Guardian.  Support has been coming from all angles and on November 7th all will be revealed.

It also seems strange seeing my face appear in the local papers.  I have spent the last couple of years trying to get a byline in the paper for images I have taken, rather than my own face there.  However I am pleased to see that my project in Ukraine is finally getting the exposure I feel it truly deserves.  It is a massive long term project which I hope shows a true portrayal of modern day Ukraine.

The Ukrainian community both here in the UK and abroad have been very supportive of the project.  Getting the right people behind me has played a massive part in opening the right doors and taking the project to where it is today.  I want to take this opportunity to thank you all.

Written by Dean O'Brien

October 19, 2012 at 2:41 pm

Posted in Ukraine

Leave a Reply

