Dean O'Brien's Blog

Free Yulia Tymoshenko demonstration – Interview with an insider at the protest camp

leave a comment »

I remember my first trip Kyiv.  I was given an apartment on Khreschatyk str and distinctly remember being awoken one morning by the sound of speeches being chanted through a tannoy speaker system.  Tents were being assembled and large numbers of people started to gather across the street.  It was a large group of protestors setting up camp demonstrating against the imprisonment of former Prime Minister Yulia Tymoshenko.

Being slightly curious I grabbed my camera and strolled over to see what all the fuss was about.  This was also the first time that I had laid eyes on my first image of Yulia Tymoshenko.  Aesthetically Yulia appeared to me like some kind of medieval princess from a fairytale.  Those golden braided plaits of hair gave her an almost angelic, biblical look.

Ever since then, whenever I have visited Kyiv I have visited the camp to speak to the various protestors and listened to their stories.  On my last trip I was finally invited inside the tents and managed to conduct a short interview with 43 year old Vaysheslav, one of the main protestors.  In the interview he manages to give an insight into what drives those who continue to protest and discusses the underlying issues which are affecting the country as a whole.

Each tent on the street represents a region in Ukraine to show their ongoing support until Yulia is freed.  As of 11th October 2012 when I conducted this interview, they had been on the streets for a total of 433 days.

Written by Dean O'Brien

October 27, 2012 at 7:42 pm

Posted in Ukraine

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

