Dean O'Brien's Blog

Exhibition ‘Private View’ evening at The Barber Institute of Fine Arts – Birmingham

with 2 comments

Yesterday I travelled over to Birmingham for the ‘Private View’ where my work which is being exhibited at The Barber Institute of Fine Arts in Birmingham.  It was a great evening where selected individuals were allowed to view all the images before the official opening today.

The exhibition showcases eight images from my ongoing project in Ukraine documenting social change and it still seems strange seeing the images presented in such a glorious setting.  The curation team at The Barber worked really hard ensuring that the images were given a large amount of space to breathe and I can’t begin to thank them enough.  Of course, it goes without saying that there are lots of people to thank.  Those who continue to support me with this project and all those involved with setting up this exhibition and making it happen.

The images are being exhibited from 8th March until the 19th May 2013 so please make an effort to go if you get the chance.

KS7C0136-2

Written by Dean O'Brien

March 8, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Posted in Ukraine

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello, yesterday me and my mother on a whim decided to go the Barber Institute and I’m so glad we did!- Your photographs left such an impact on me, I felt sad and intrigued by their deeper meanings, even after going home I looked online to research about the Ukraine. Thank you for sharing your eye, look forward to more of your work!

    Amie

    March 25, 2013 at 7:15 pm

  2. Thank you for the kind comments and I am glad that the images triggered something inside you. My project in Ukraine is long term and will continue for many years to come.

    I think it’s great that you were moved by them and that this then pushed you to look more into information about Ukraine and its problems.

    Dean O'Brien

    March 25, 2013 at 7:45 pm


Leave a Reply

