Dean O'Brien's Blog

Captured Moments

with one comment

I never get bored of looking at old photographs.  Real captured moments.  Last week whilst I was having my weekly Russian lesson my tutor showed me a book which she picked up at a jumble sale.  In it were pictures of days gone by.

I recognised the picture below.  Well not the picture itself, but the all too familiar blocks of flats from what is known as the ‘left bank’ in Kyiv. The picture below was not dated but I’m guessing it was taken around 25 years ago.

The little girl jumping seems to symbolise a carefree freedom and the new blocks of flats possibly ‘change’ or a new beginning for many.  Little did many in Ukraine know at this time that Independence was just around the corner.  Looking at the picture below I wonder where the little girl is now and what became of her life after independence.  We can but wonder.

This Saturday (August 24th) I will be celebrating Independence Day with many of my Ukrainian friends here in the UK.

Credit for the image below goes to Oleg Homola.

KS7C0686book

Written by Dean O'Brien

August 20, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Posted in Ukraine

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love this photo! I think this is the same book I have. So many amazing photographs in it.

    Michelle

    September 3, 2013 at 1:56 pm


Leave a Reply

