Dean O'Brien's Blog

Sweet Like Chocolate

leave a comment »

It’s an early Sunday morning in Kyiv and and I’m in a district outside of the main city.  I’m not up to anything in particular, just having an early morning stroll.  It’s not quite what photographers would call ‘the golden hour’ but it’s close enough.

LIke one of the old Bisto adverts on tv (from a few years back), I float up a side street following the smell of coffee and decide to investigate further.  There I see a kiosk with a few people standing outside.  I order my americano and see what else is on offer.

It’s at this point that I’m drawn to the chocolate bar pictured below.  Now this is one of those things that I find hard to explain.  The child looks very Soviet in appearance and I suppose until you look at the modern font at the bottom of the wrapper, you would think this would look more in place in a museum.  Anyway, I drink my coffee, grab a couple of the visually stimulating bars and move on..

IMG_2288-2web

Written by Dean O'Brien

August 23, 2013 at 2:53 pm

Posted in Ukraine

Leave a Reply

