Dean O'Brien's Blog

Ukrainian Independence Day – Tarasivka, Derbyshire

leave a comment »

I’m no stranger to ‘Tarasivka’ the Ukrainian Youth Movement HQ in Derbyshire.  I used to come here many moons ago for the annual scooter rally which took place (and still does).  And last year I attended Tarasivka to give a talk about my work which was covered in another blog post  Here.  It was originally a WW2 army camp until it was converted at the end of the war to a settlement for Ukrainian military refugees and their families.  The residents have long since moved away and the site is now used as a cultural centre by their descendants.

Well today I travelled there to celebrate Ukraine’s Independence Day.  Although it’s a day for celebration for Ukrainians the world over, 22 years since gaining its independence, Ukraine is still struggling.  However, today is not about looking at the negative side of things so I get my priorities right and head on over to the canteen to see what traditional food is on offer.

After a walk around the grounds and a mingle it was time to head back.  It was good to catch up with people whom I had not seen for a while and I managed to spend some quality time with my daughter who sported her rather fetching Vyshyvanka.  Yes, like her father, she likes her borscht followed by a plate of varenyky with soured cream.

Screen Shot 2013-08-24 at 16.26.50

Written by Dean O'Brien

August 23, 2013 at 11:50 pm

Posted in Ukraine

Leave a Reply

