Dean O'Brien's Blog

Katya’s Story – The Finale

with 4 comments

It’s been almost two years since I last heard from Katya.  We became good friends during my Destination Unknown project and she always spoke very honestly about her personal situation and the ongoing problems in Ukraine.

What she did was to offer me a true genuine insight into the daily lives of people such as herself.  And what made Katya a great subject for me to work with was the fact that she was not your stereotypical slavic sex siren.  Katya was 40, highly educated and dare I say ‘looked fairly normal’.  This is what the project was about though.  Documenting those who were genuinely looking for love.  I made a conscious decision to avoid the sex tourists and prostitutes which were giving the industry a bad name.

In a short photo film which I made with Katya Here she spoke very honestly about her own situation and not knowing what the future would bring.  So after losing touch with Katya there were times where I was worried about what had become of her.  Had she left Ukraine?  Did she find Mr.Right?  Had something bad happened to her?

I had sent Katya the occasional email and text but never received any response.  I figured that she had decided not to continue with the project or had found a partner.  After doing some research last week I’m pleased to report that Katya is now living in Washington DC and is engaged to be married.

And that my friends, is where Katya’s story ends.

katya

Written by Dean O'Brien

December 15, 2013 at 5:23 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad to hear of the story with a good outcome. 😉

    Joseph Korpsak

    December 15, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    • Thanks Joseph. I was very pleased also. Katya was a lovely lady and I hope she has found true happiness.

      Dean O'Brien

      December 15, 2013 at 5:40 pm

  2. Really lovely stuff here Dean, much enjoyed!

    grahamwphillips

    December 15, 2013 at 6:13 pm


Leave a Reply

