Dean O'Brien's Blog

Ukraine – The Writing’s on the Wall

leave a comment »

With all what’s been happening in Ukraine the past few months I thought it only right that I write a post expressing my thoughts on the situation there.  Ukraine is a complicated country with a troubled history, of that there is no question.  And what most of us have been exposed to lately via television or social media has shocked even the most hardened of people.

As a documentary photographer, I’ve always took pride in my work and documenting this in a fair manner.  Looking at the crisis in Ukraine I fully understand the arguments both for and against merging with Europe and also understand those who lean more towards Russia.

What I do find hard to stomach is how the new government in Kiev seems to have just sat back and let this escalation of violence in the country happen.  Initially I thought at first this was some kind of strategy to combat what was happening, but no.  It reminded me of a statement made by english philosopher Edmund Burke who said, ‘The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.’  I’m not sure about those running the new government being ‘good men’ but they certainly are doing nothing.

Only yesterday was the world greeted with more devastation, this time from Odessa where 46 people have died in clashes.  And yet again as we have seen many times before, the police just stand by and do nothing.

In this difficult time of uncertainty one thing is for sure, old Soviet habits die hard.  The graffiti below could’t sum up the current situation any better in my opinion.

KS7C5697wall

Written by Dean O'Brien

May 3, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Leave a Reply

