Dean O'Brien's Blog

Ukraine Road Trip

with 3 comments

Well as many of you maybe be aware I was planning on riding my motorbike to Ukraine this year.  Originally the plan was to ride there on my own but eventually decided to travel with a couple of other riders so that they too could experience this fantastic country.

Due to the crisis going on in the country I’ve decided to put this on hold till next year.  In all honesty, I still feel safe in Ukraine but I’m thinking more of those who were going to be travelling with me.

Who knows what the country will be like in 12 months time?  The situation is changing on a daily basis with many regions calling for their own independence.

KS7C4798web

Written by Dean O'Brien

May 5, 2014 at 7:04 am

Posted in Ukraine Road Trip

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re not the only one to hope that- while traveling in the outskirts of the city today, I saw a lot of graffiti saying: вставай, Харьков! and вставай, юг-восток!

    Sorry to hear that the trip has had to be postponed. Sounds like a very cool idea and I’m looking forward to the day when it can happen in Ukraine : ) In the meantime, do you think you’ll ride elsewhere in Europe this year or just wait for next year?

    crazyaboutukraine

    May 11, 2014 at 6:58 pm

    • I might get to ride to France for a weekend but that’s about it. It’s hard to guess what the situation will be like next year but I’m hoping for the best. I’ll keep you posted though and if we head over towards Kharkiv next year I’ll give you a shout!

      Dean O'Brien

      May 11, 2014 at 7:30 pm


Leave a Reply

