Dean O'Brien's Blog

Mariupol – My Meeting With Former UA Soldier (Part 1)

leave a comment »

I arrange to meet Sergei at my hotel near the beach on Mariupol.  He tells me he’s ten minutes away when we speak on the phone.  I know he’ll be late.  Everyone you arrange to meet in Ukraine is always late.  An hour later I’m still waiting, but I get to have two more pints at the hotel bar.  Every cloud eh?   Eventually he arrives.  We shake hands and head off for a walk around the area close to my hotel.

I’d communicated with Sergei a few times via email so he’s already had the heads-up about what I’m wanting to see etc…  His command of the English language is fairly good so we’ve no problems communicating.

He’s a former Ukrainian soldier who now works at the local metal plant Metinvest.  Ironically enough they played a huge part intervening in the uprising here in 2014.  Something he tells me not every employee was happy about.

We discuss the happenings of May 9th 2014.  He tells me ‘Nobody knows how many died here but it was very bad.  Nobody went to work for days afterwards’.  First we visit the site of the Police Station and what remains of it.  One can see by the bullet-riddled holes that this place saw a really intense battle which totally destroyed the building.  It’s currently under armed guard so I discreetly grab some shots and we leave.

IMG_5786

IMG_5791

IMG_5790

IMG_6029

IMG_6025

Next stop, the city council building which was destroyed by fire.  Again, this was the site of some serious disruption also.  This building too remains abandoned although no armed guard was visible.  I’m guessing as the trouble here is far from over, there’s little point in attempting to do anything with these buildings just yet.

IMG_5794

 

IMG_5797

The streets around Mariupol are fairly quiet but theres definitely a tension in the air.  I’ll cover the rest of my time in Mariupol over a series of blog posts as theres too much to do in one post.

 

 

 

 

 

Written by Dean O'Brien

July 19, 2017 at 8:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

