Dean O'Brien's Blog

Always Be Prepared..

leave a comment »

I wasn’t prepared for this trip.  The seasons here change like the flick of a switch.  Spring is spring, summer is summer, autumn is autumn and winter….well it’s cold.  When I first arrived in Kiev I manage to grab the last few days of the autumn sunshine and eventually, when it was time to leave Ukraine, I witnessed the first snowflakes of the year.

I had a rough idea of what I wanted to document here, but nothing could prepare me for what I witnessed.  People living in shell damaged apartments trying to live as normal a life as possible.  Many on the street having to sell personal possessions just to buy food and pay utilities.  Various NGO’s operate in the area but it’s simply not enough.

I managed to speak to people from Luhansk and Donetsk who regularly cross ‘from one side to the other’.  They told me how life is there, and more importantly, their hopes for the future.  Throughout my journey I met some amazing people and over the next few weeks I’ll write more blog posts about my experiences there.

I had to be fairly honest with people when they asked me ‘What do people say in your country about the war?’  I told them  ‘They thinks it’s over, as it’s never really mentioned on the news anymore, so that’s why I’m here’.  

IMG_0928

Written by Dean O'Brien

November 2, 2017 at 10:39 am

Posted in Ukraine

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

